Pagan Basics: Chakras

The Pagan Basics series is for those looking to find out more about the basic concepts, symbols and values of paganism.  A series of short articles which give explanations to some of paganism’s most fundamental concepts, images and shared understandings.

Chakra is the name of one of the seven major energy points which roughly run down the centre of the body.  Each of these energy centres is commonly given a colour and a corresponding area of the body which is represents, for example, the base chakra is red and governs over base natures, the element of earth, instinct, security and survival.


The word Chakra comes from the Sanskrit for ‘wheel’ or ‘turning’, and is found in Hindu and Bhuddist texts. It is typical for chakras to be depicted in their corresponding colour, and are often pictured as wheels or flowers with varying numbers of petals. A chakra point is commonly described as a cone shaped vortice or spinning wheel of energy attached to the body and radiating outwards. Different belief systems put forwards different numbers of chakras, but the most well-known is seven as shown above.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s