Common Pagan Symbols

Here’s a summary and description of some symbols commonly used in various strands of paganism, courtesy of Jamie:

Pentacle The Pentacle

The five-pointed star within a circle is the most common Pagan symbol, and it is typically used to identify oneself as a Pagan orWiccan. The five points represent the 4 elements plus the spirit, and the circle connects them all. A five-pointed star without the circle is sometimes called a pentagram, rather than a pentacle. Based on numerology, the five points means the pentacle symbolizes the Earth element and can be used as an Earth symbol on an altar.

Septagram The Septagram

The seven pointed star has a few names: septagram, septacle, Elven star or fairy star. The number seven corresponds to the spirit realm, which is why this symbol is associated with elves or fairies. There are no set representations for each of the points, but they are sometimes labelled: earth, air, fire, water, above, below and within. The septagram is also associated with astrology because the classical view of the sky contained seven planets.

Triple Moon The Triple Moon

The triple moon is a Goddess symbol that represents the Maiden, Mother, and Crone as the waxing, full, and waning moon. It is also associated with feminine energy, mystery and psychic abilities. You often see this symbol on crowns or other head-pieces, particularly worn by High Priestesses.

Hexagram The Hexagram

The unicursal hexagram is a variation of the 6-pointed star. The more traditional way of drawing a 6-pointed star is in the double triangles of the Star of David. But Aleister Crowley created his own design, to create a symbol that could be drawn in one continuous line. The number 6 represents unity and balance, specifically balance between man and the Divine.

Eye of Horus The Eye of Horus

The Eye of Horus can be a bit of a confusing symbol. It is seen sometimes as the right or sometimes as the left eye. The left eye is Eye of Horus and is connected with the moon. When it’s the right eye, it’s the Eye of Ra, and associated with the sun. Though some sources say there is no distinction at all. The Eye represents the eye that was lost by Horus when he fought with Seth over the murder of his father, Osiris. The symbol is worn for for protection and to ward off evil spirits.

Ankh The Ankh

The short and traditional meaning for the ankh symbol is “everlasting life”. This symbol is a heiroglyph seen in countless ancient Egyptian carvings, usually held in hand by Gods and pharohs to show how they preside over life (in other words, are immortal). In these images, the ankh is held by the loop rather than the base. The ankh is a popular symbol among Pagans, likely due to the similarity to a Christian cross which makes the ankh much less shocking to others, as compared to a pentacle.

Hecate's Wheel Hecate’s Wheel

This maze-like symbol is associated with the triple aspect of the Greek goddess Hecate. She is considered a ‘dark’ goddess by some, and rules over cross-roads and the Underworld. Hecate is also known as the Goddess of the Witches. This isn’t a particularly common symbol among Wiccans, but you do see it occasionally.

Inverted Pentacle The Inverted Pentacle

The inverted (or upside down) pentacle is a symbol of some reputation. It is typically associated with Satanism, though that is not a completely accurate description. The true emblem of the Church of Satan is the sigil of Baphomet, which is a symbol with a goat’s head and an inverted pentacle. Within Wicca, the upside down pentacle stands for the 2nd degree in some traditions.

Triquetra The Triquetra

Yes, this is the symbol from the popular TV show “Charmed”. Why they chose the triquetra for their Book of Shadows, I really can’t say. Possibly because it’s exotic without being threatening. Like the triskele, this Celtic symbol embodies the sacred number 3, as seen in the 3 phases of the Goddess (maiden, mother, crone) and the 3 elements of nature (land, sky, sea). During the period of early Christianity, the triquetra took on further meaning as the Holy Trinity.

Triskele The Triskele

There are many variations on the basic triskele (or triple spiral) symbol. The one illustrated here is very simple to illustrate the basic look of the symbol. The triskele is a Celtic symbol, and symbolizes the power of life and rebirth. It combines the spiral (often used to illustrate the cycle of life) and the number 3 is a sacred number, as seen in the phases of the triple Goddess. This symbol is also referred to as a triskelion.

Thanks very much, Jamie, hope that’s enlightened people. And if there’s anyone out there who’s got any more symbols they’d like to add to this list, then please send them in, and we’ll put them up!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s